Psychosocial Development

Erik Erikson`s psychosocial development model is a popular model for understanding resilience. Erikson states that psychological development starts from birth and continues to old age. Development occurs in a series of stages, with each stage being partly dependent on successful completion of the prior stages.  Erikson`s model encompasses eight stages with the three latter stages occurring in adulthood.  Children who have difficulties at a particular stage can continue to develop through the stages at a later age if provided with environmental supports that foster this.

Diagram by Centre for Resilience

Copyright 2019 Dr Carol Schultz

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s